Eat the meat and spit out the bones.

How to treat a fellow Author

Now I know what some of the higher in the ranks of writing or Authoring are thinking, “I’m just trying to help.”
That is nice that you would like to help, find out where their facebook Author page is and go like it.
Follow them on Twitter.
“But I don’t want my name associated with that crap, because they have bad grammar, or they forgot to dot an i or cross a t.”
And I say this, “Shame on you!”
They will go through the same growing process, that any Author or writer goes through.
Some people did not have the same educational opportunities that others may have had.
I look at it like this: if a person is writing because they love the art, then they will grow and take the stepping stones necessary to be all that they can be.
When a true artist writes for the love of the literature, they will grow. They will learn and they will become all that they are meant to be, because of the love of literature.
That love of the art is what will propel them forward, into being the best that they can be.
I applaud you, if you are writing from your very being.
I applaud you, if you simply write because you love books.
I encourage you to write and to be all that you can be for yourself and for those that enjoy reading your work.
I have said it before and I will say it again, I am not some phenomenal, educated Author, but I can tell a hell of a story. And I have a deep respect and love for this thing called art and literature.
I encourage you to get out there and tell your story and when it comes to advice and critiques, well, ‘eat the meat and spit out the bones!’
Glean the good that you can for learning and do not even try to process the mean.
Write, because it keeps you sane.
Write, because you love to connect with your readers.
Write, because no one can do it like you.
And remember in your journey to pay it forward, you will need an encouraging word one day too.
©2013 Suzanne Steele

Leave a comment